Swara Shastra -1

Swara Shastra

I will be posting about Swara Shastra in a series of posts, beginning with this introductory part. A well known treatise exists detailing what activity should be done when a nostril is active.

Word of advice: The secrets described in this treatise relate to a human body, irrespective of caste, creed, nationality or gender. Be prepared for some surprises because, the entry of soul and then the vital breath known as Prana Vayu has little to do with boundaries made by human beings. A disturbance in Prana leads to illness. Controlling these pathways or Nadi’s bring success in particular area of life. The knowledge contained may be disturbing for many who are not familiar with how Prana or vital breath functions in the body!

Caveat: The knowledge contained herein is NOT meant for practitioners of Surat Shabad Yoga (or Dying while Living) which in a way is a method to vacate the soul out of the body, while Prana stays intact – thereby no death occurs. The method is all about Sushmana Nadi! Nothing of what is mentioned below applies to practitioners of Surat Shabad Yoga.

There are a total of 72 Nadi’s or pathways that run thru the entire body. The origin of this Nadi’s is located at the bellybutton. Among these Nadi’s, one such bunch of Nadi’s is known as the Kundalini which takes on the shape of a snake. Kundalini comprises of 10 Nadi’s going up in the body, while 10 go down in the body. Two Nadi’s traverse longitudinally which branch out into 24 Nadi’s out of which 10 are prominent and other 10 carry Vayu Tattva thru the body. These further branch out into vertical and downward branches, this is how Prana is stabilized in the body. Out of the verticals ten are very important, but, within these ten, three are most important – the Ida Nadi, Pingla Nadi and Sushmana Nadi. Other are Gandhari, Hastijivha, Pusha, Yashsvani, AlamBusha, Kuhu, and the last one is Shankhani Nadi.

Ida Nadi’s location is on the left side of the body. Pingla is on the right hand side, while Sushmana Nadi is dead center of the body. Gandhari relates to left eye. Hastijivha is right eye, Pusha is related to Ears, AlamBusha is related to Mouth. Kuhu is about reproductive organs, while Shankhani is all about Excretory organ namely the Anus.

The Prana Vayu that flows thru these Nadi’s are named as Prana, Apana, Samana, Udaana and Vyana.

  1. Prana further diversifies into Naga, Kurma, Krukala, Devdutta, Dhananjaya – these are located at the Heart.
  2. Apana is situated at the Anus.
  3. Samana is located at the belly button.
  4. Udaana is located at the throat center.
  5. Vyana is spread across the entire body

Naga helps in burping, Kurma helps in controlling movement of eyelids, Krukala is all about sneeze. Devdutta is all about yawing. Dhananjaya is what remains in the body after death.

Those who practice just any form of meditation will recognize different Nadi’s by the appearance of Moon in Ida Nadi, Sun in the Pingla Nadi, finally Lord Shiva himself is in the form of a mythical bird known as Hans in Sushmana Nadi. (The Sun and Moon mentioned here are NOT the physical bodies that one sees with naked eye or celestial bodies – the one visualized while doing meditation are LIVE objects and one can converse with them!)

Now coming on to the breath that everyone takes thru the nose. Hkar is the one which is related to inhalation. Skar is all about exhalation. Hkar is related to Lord Shiva and Skar is all about Shakti or consort of Lord Shiva. The breath which comes from left nostril is related to the Moon. The one which comes from Right nostril is related to Sun!

More on this subject in another post